Build Your Website and They Will Come?...Not Really
So, your
web site is up and running. You have developed a great product
(or are selling someone else’s). You have a great sales page.
All the links work, and it looks great on everyone’s screen.
But you aren’t selling…anything! Why? Because no one knows you
are there!
What do
you do then?
You must
generate traffic…that is, you must generate online visitors.
They must visit your site before they will ever have the
opportunity to purchase from you.
There
are many effective forms of traffic generation, but each of them
must be managed correctly to be profitable. For example, if you
are buying a low-cost volume type of traffic and your cost per
visitor is less than a tenth of a cent, then you can have a very
low conversion rate (percentage of visitors who purchase from
you) and still generate a profit. If, on the other hand, you
are paying $3 per visitor that comes to your site, then, for
example, on a $99 product, your breakeven point is 33 visitors.
That is a 3% conversion rate (considered high online). So to be
in profit you would need to have a conversion rate of better
than 3%.
Your
highest quality traffic will be that of referred traffic.
Referred traffic includes visitors that are referred by another
site, or from a sales letter you may have sent them. It also
includes visitors generated after reading an article you may
have posted online. These are the most highly qualified leads,
assuming the source of the referral accurately depicted the
nature of your site.
The next
highest quality traffic source is that of search engine
referrals. For example, if your site ranks within the top 10 or
20 web sites for a particular search term, and the visitor
clicks on your site after searching for a particular keyword or
phrase in a search engine.
The next
highest quality traffic source is that of targeted pay-per-click
(PPC) traffic. With this traffic, you purchase click-thrus from
visitors who have searched or clicked on a particular search
term that is relevant to your site and offering. This traffic
differs from search engine referral traffic only in that it is a
result of a paid placement, whereas search engine referrals are
generally not from paid placements.
Next is
that of ezine advertising. Ezines are niche online newsletters
that are emailed to subscribers on a regular basis. The
important thing here is to be sure to place your advertisement
in an ezine that commands the type of reader who would normally
be inclined to purchase or be interested in your product.
After
these targeted sources of traffic, there are many untargeted
sources of traffic. These include exit traffic, pop-up or
pop-under traffic, and redirect traffic. Without going into
details on the various sources of these forms of traffic,
suffice it to say this is generally untargeted traffic. Because
of that, it is generally both inexpensive and is associated with
a very low response rate. Untargeted sources of traffic are
generally better handled by using a “landing page” that creates
an initial interest in you or your product or web site, and
directs the visitor to click through to your main page.
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